Noel’s Eve Episode 4

He poured himself a glass of red wine and entertained some thoughts
about Omotola, he decided he would return her hairband one of these
days, he didn’t want any of her things in his possession. He was lucky
Angel hadn’t spotted it while they’d been in the bedroom.
‘Hello there Son’ Chief Peters took a seat close to his son.
‘Father….’ Dayo greeted the older man.
‘Why do you look so depressed, aren’t you excited about your wedding’?
the man asked.
‘I am dad’ he said not wanting to argue with his father.
‘Ah, I told your mum you wouldn’t be pleased. It was all her idea that we
choose the date for you.’ He fetched himself another drink and poured it
into a glass.
‘Well, deed is done, I guess I’ll have to marry now’ Dayo peered at his old
man.
‘You would be a full man soon Dayo’ the man sipped from the glass.
‘Yes father’ he waited for him to speak further.
‘We would be having a meeting with some other companies on Monday, I
want you to handle everything well. I trust your judgment’ the man patted
his son on the back.
‘What’s the meeting about’? Dayo asked.
‘I left a copy of some documents on your bed’ the man replied and walked
away.
***
‘What does he mean by mistake’? Nneka felt bad for her friend. How could
Dayo call that night a mistake?
‘That’s what he said to me. How I’m I supposed to tell him about the
pregnancy. I’ll abort this baby and end it all. How can I face him again?
He made me feel ashamed.’ Tola cried.
‘No, you’ll never abort. You have to tell him about this pregancy’ Nneka
insisted.
‘I can’t , I don’t have the courage to. What if Korina hears of it? She would
have my head. I was such a fool thinking I was special to him that night.
He made me feel like the only girl in the world’. She sobbed.
‘Tols we would tell him together, I’ll be by your side. Everything would be
fine. Please believe that’ Nneka reassured her friend.
‘What does he mean by mistake’? Nneka felt bad for her friend. How could
Dayo call that night a mistake?
‘That’s what he said to me. How I’m I supposed to tell him about the
pregnancy. I’ll abort this baby and end it all. How can I face him again?
He made me feel ashamed.’ Tola cried.
‘No, you’ll never abort. You have to tell him about this pregnancy’ Nneka
insisted.
‘I can’t , I don’t have the courage to. What if Korina hears of it? She would
have my head. I was such a fool thinking I was special to him that night.
He made me feel like the only girl in the world’. She sobbed.
‘Tols we would tell him together, I’ll be by your side. Everything would be
fine. Please believe that’ Nneka reassured her friend.
***
‘I hate Mondays’ Angel yawned and rolled to the other side of bed. She
was so happy Dayo was in her life. They had a great weekend, he took her
out for dinner somewhere else and made passionate love to her.
‘And I love you’ Dayo rolled over and planted a kiss on her forehead.
‘I love you too honey’ she smiled shyly and rolled out of bed.
‘Let’s spend together in each other’s arms, I don’t want to be without you
Dayo, I don’t have any appointments today, so I’ going to be home alone
all day’ she drew the curtains and they parted to give light.
‘I’m sorry baby, I have something important to do today, we’ll have all the
time in the world during our honeymoon’ he replied.
‘I can’t wait for that glorious day’ she rolled her eyes.
‘Soon baby, soon, we’ll get married and make babies’ he teased her.
‘Babies? I don’t know about that’ she rubbed her flat tommy, she didn’t
want anything to come between her and her career. She just needed a
man to love her and support her dreams.
‘Don’t you wanna have kids with me’? Dayo rose and encircled his arms
round her waist.
‘Of course silly, we would have kids together. Anything you want my
darling’ she smiled coyly.
‘Alright, I have to prepare for work, You won’t be that lonely, you could
stay with mom or cal Korina over or better still, you watch Telemundo’ he
winked at the last word.
‘Oh please, give me more credit honey, only poor minds watch such
classless acts. I’ll do as you say, I’ll call Korina over’ she kissed him.
‘What should I get you after work’? he asked as he neared the bathroom.
‘I want me some Pringles, bring me onion flavor, that’s my best’. She
smiled. She considered herself the luckiest woman in the world, to have
such a man by her side.
‘Anything for you Angel’ he smiled and disappeared into the bathroom.
‘Now, now, what do we have here’? her eyes spotted the hair band on the
drawer beside the bed.
‘Who owns that’? she wondered and picked it up. It wasn’t hers neither did
she think it was Korina’s. Whoever owned it was as cheap as it looked.
She decided to talk to Dayo about it later.
***
‘Omotola, do you really have to go’? she had gone over to spend the
weekend with her mother. She was an only child, her father had died few
days after her birth and her mother wouldn’t remarry. She had decided to
take care of her only child, from the little they had, she decided that her
daughter wouldn’t be an illiterate.
‘Mami, I have early morning class, I really have to go’ she smiled at her
mother. How could she have made such a mistake? This woman was a
trader, she struggled hard to send her to school yet she had gotten herself
pregnant.
Her joy waned and sadness filled her all of a sudden.
‘Are you okay? Do you need more money?i promise to send you something
next week, my business isn’t doing very well’ the woman noticed the
change in her daughter. She wasn’t herself the whole weekend, she was
suddenly withdrawn and sad. She looked like one who had a biting secret.
‘I am very fine Mami, I should return to school now,I shall visit next
weekend’ she forced a smile and hugged her mother.
‘That’s good of you, promise to make me proud’ the woman smiled.
‘I promise to make you proud’ Tola forced down the tears that threatened
to fall on her cheeks.
‘I promise to make you proud’ the words reechoed as she waited for a
taxi. What had she done to herself? Why did she allow the sweetness of
his words and to lure her into his arms. She shivered as she remembered
the appointment with Nwanneka. They were to go to Olive Groves
Company, that was where Dayo Peters worked. The company was owned
by their family, one of the best in Africa.
Dayo Peters was a billionaire,their family had a name and a place in the
society. That scared her further, what if he thought she was after his
money?
‘Madam we don reach’ the taxi driver’s gruff voice interrupted her
thoughts.
‘Thank You’ she replied and stepped down from the cab and walked
towards the house.
‘Good morning’ She greeted some of the neighbors who looked at her
suspiciously, that increased her fears, did they realize she was pregnant.
Her heart thudded fast against her chest, it was a miracle her mother
hadn’t discovered it.
‘Open the door, it’s Tola’ she tapped the door lightly.
‘Where have you been? I’ve been waiting so long for you.’ Nneka pulled
the door backwards.
‘You know how clingy my mum could get’ Tola offered her friend a weak
smile.
‘How is she doing though’? Nneka asked.
‘She’s fine…’ Tola sat on the bed waiting for her friend to say something
about their plan.
‘Does she know’? Nneka asked.
‘No, it would break her heart. Why don’t I just have an abortion? What
would I achieve by trying to ruin his life? He’s getting married soon’ Tola
said.
‘It doesn’t matter, he should’ve remembered that before luring you into his
bed, now get up, we need to see him now it’s early, you know how
companies could be’ Nneka urged her.
‘I am so scared Nneka, I’ve never been this terrified’ Tola cried.
‘Hey, you have to be strong and please carry the lab test along with you’
Nneka reminded her of the lab results.
‘I don’t know what i would do without you’ Tola was amazed by her
friend’s concern.
‘That’s what friends are for: tough times’ Nneka answered.
***
Whenever Dayo Peters stepped into a room, one thing was certain,all eyes
had to stay fixed on him especially when he’d dressed in a suit.
‘Good morning boss’ his secretary smiled and welcomed him.
‘Morning Aisha’ Dayo replied feeling confident. Women admired him, they
loved him and threw themselves at him but he just loved one: his Angel.
‘Get me the files concerning today’s meeting’ Dayo instructed her and
walked Into his office. There was a lot of work to do and Mondays were
meant for that.
‘Come in’ he spoke in a low voice, Aisha must have brought him the files,
but he was too busy reading the morning paper to look up and welcome
his guests.
‘Good morning sir’ Tola stuttered, while Nneka remained silent. She had
already assessed the situation, Dayo Peters was a proud and arrogant fool
and she wouldn’t let him make a mess of her friend.
‘Morning, Aisha…where are the files’? he replied carelessly but there was
no reply, that forced him to look up.
At first he thought he saw wrong, what was she doing here? and who was
the other lady?
‘What are you doing here? I thought I told you we must never see each
other’ he rose to his feet.
‘I…I really needed to speak with you’ Tola fiddled with her fingers.
‘Well here I am speak, what do you want’? he cursed himself. If he knew
things would turn out this way, he would never had slept with her.
‘What do you want from me’? he barked at her and she shivered.
‘You don’t have to raise your voice Dayo. She is pregnant for you’ Nneka
walked closer to his table and dropped an envelope.
‘Are you kidding?’ blood rushed in his veins? How could she be pregnant?
That was when he remembered he hadn’t used protection.
‘How could you be pregnant’? he read the test results and threw it on the
floor, this wasn’t happening.
‘Don’t even deny this pregnancy, she was a virgin and you took her
virginity’ Nneka came to her friend’s defense.
‘O my God’ he sank into the chair. If Angel ever found out about this, he
would be doomed, his parents would be so disappointed in him.
He took one look at the girl and decided, she didn’t look rich or well to do,
so he knew what her type needed.
‘Have a seat’ he ordered. He fetched the paper and scribbled on it.
‘Have this’ he handed the cheque to Omotola, who was a bit confused,
what was he trying to do?
‘That is a cheque of five million naira, get rid of that pregnancy, take it
and don’t look back’he watched her face the whole time. He expected to
see a glimmer of excitement but she surprised him, instead, he saw fear
and sadness.

Leave a Reply

